Here is the story and pictures of Branch Member – Bill Howie’s memorable evening at this Event.

The Hibernian F.C. Hall of Fame was established in the Autumn of 2009, with the objective of officially recognising, celebrating and commemorating the Players, Managers and other worthy individuals who have made Hibernian F.C. what it is today.

The 2nd Hibernian Hall of Fame event was held at the Forthview Suite, Easter Road Stadium on Friday 9 November. I was delighted to represent the St. Patrick’s Hibernian Supporters’ Branch at the event, having had my name drawn out of the hat earlier in the week. I would like to thank the Committee for giving me this opportunity and for ring-fencing the draw to ordinary Branch members like myself. This was a truly selfless act.

The evening kicked off with Grant Stott, MC, cracking a few jokes which went down very well with the sell out audience which included our Owner – Tom Farmer and Chairman – Rod Petrie. In true Hibernian style, Grant avoided gloating (too much) about the predicament our city neighbours find themselves in just now, choosing instead to focus his opening speech on our grand old team!

A very enjoyable dinner and presentations followed, introducing in turn the latest inductees into the Hibernian Hall of Fame; from the 1960s (Eric Stevenson), the 1970s (Jimmy O’Rourke), the 1980s (Alan Rough) and the 1990s (Keith Wright – the fans choice). There was also a Lifetime Achievement Award which was presented to John Fraser who signed for Hibs in 1954. John went onto enjoy a 24 year association with Hibs as a player and coach.

There was a short video played midway through the night to commemorate some great Hibernians who had passed away since the Inaugural Hall of Fame Gala Dinner in 2009. Amongst them were of course, Eddie Turnbull and Bobby Smith and the playing of the video brought a brief moment of sadness to the evening.

The event concluded with a raffle and auction and of course the opportunity to mix with other great Hibernian players of the past, including Micky Weir, John Brownlie, Jackie McNamara, Paul Kane and Gordon Hunter.

This was a fantastic evening which I enjoyed thoroughly. A special mention goes to the representatives of the other Hibernian Supporters Branches in attendance who were great company on the night.

Glory, Glory to the Hibees


This entry was posted in News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.