Happy New Year to all branch members

As you will know it has become our committee’s tradition to send out a New Year message and review of our last year successes and events.

Sadly the first message of this New Year is to pass all St Patrick’s Branch heartfelt condolences to our Branch Secretary Gordon McKinley, (Big G) and all the McKinley family on the passing of Shaun McKinley on the 31st Dec. We can only add to the many tributes and warm words already spoken by many Branch members and friends to this extraordinarily brave man. In reading Shaun’s own posted messages he treated his terminal illness with both realism and humility, the word bravery is misused a lot these days, in Shaun’s case we know there is no truer meaning of the word. RIP.

It may seems insensitive to now go on to speak of our clubs Scottish Cup Victory, however we know nothing would be more wanted or expected by Shaun. So for Shaun, and too for the great Sammy Martinez and all the Hibernian Supporters past and present, Glory Glory To The Hibees, Scottish Cup Champions 2016. We will all keep our memories of that day and the next, but I will never be happier than walking behind the Hibernian Scottish Cup winner’s team bus holding St Patricks Branch Banner, in tears with true friends and family all around.

You Branch has had a great year all thanks to you the St Patrick’s membership and not just celebrating our Cup victory (Every day, week and month since 21st May), our success includes;- our annual St Patrick’s night celebration our numerous Guest Speakers, from Pat Nevin to Pat Stanton and every Hibs celebrity inbetween, the St Patricks stone on the South Stand, remembering too our roots and our welcoming banner to all refugees, our First St Pat’s Cap via member Calum Willis, our support and influencing improvements for all the Hibernian supporters and of course our Jaw dropping Skol Cup night where our guest list read like a Hibernian new year honours list. Remember and review all these stories on the news page of the web site.

So again thanks to us all St Patrick’s Branch Members with a special mention to your hard working committee; Gordon McKinley, Stuart McLeod, Robert Devine, Susan Linn, Ian McNeil, Jamie Millar, Steven McPhillips, Paddy Power, Brian Duffy, Tam McVay, Willie Wilson Trevor McManus and our Just back Correspondent Mark Strachan, here’s to 2017.

It only leaves me to remind you of our renewed membership between Jan and February 28th, check out the new updated Membership Page on the Web site for renewal details.

Best Regards

Dougie McLeod

Chair St Patrick’s Branch


Remembering St Patrick’s Branch Member Shaun McKinley RIP

This entry was posted in News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.